countries that allow dual citizenship

Countries That Allow Dual Citizenship

In November 16, 2017

Ever wondered who can have dual citizenship or why someone may want it? Dual citizenship is desirable for many people who have family in a different country or for those who travel often between two nations. Holding dual citizenship allows a person to travel to and from both countries without needing a visa, which is not only more convenient, but also more affordable. Aside from the ease of traveling back and forth, other benefits include the ability to own property and to work and live in either country. Citizens from countries that allow dual citizenship also have the right to vote in both countries. Of course, while there are benefits associated with having dual nationality, there are also disadvantages. Dual citizens may have to pay taxes in both countries; they have to abide by both countries laws; and they may be required to serve in both countries military if service is mandatory. Whether the advantages outweigh the disadvantages depends on what is most important to the person applying.


Want to know which countries allow dual citizenship? First, you should know that not all countries allow it. Poland, China, and India are some examples of countries that do not allow dual citizenship. Second, some countries that allow dual citizenship may require a person to go through a lengthy application approval process or may allow limited dual citizenship. Spain is technically a dual nationality country, however they limit dual citizenship to select Latin American countries that they have an agreement with. Here is a list of countries that do allow dual citizenship at the moment – it is important to keep in mind that these can change given the political climate or changes in government.

  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Egypt*
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany*
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Lebanon
  • Malta
  • Pakistan*
  • Philippines
  • Portugal
  • Serbia
  • Sierra Leone
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea*
  • SouthAfrica*
  • Spain*
  • SriLanka*
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Syria
  • Tonga
  • Turkey*
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

*Requires special permission, approval, or has restrictions.


A person can go about applying for dual citizenship in a few ways but the most common ways are through birth, naturalization, marriage, or a special investment incentive. Receiving dual nationality by birth requires a person who is technically a non-resident or non-citizen to show documentation that their parents are recognized citizens. Naturalization typically happens when a person has had permanent residency in a second country for a given period of time that allows them to become a dual citizen. Marriage can help speed up the amount of time it will take for the spouse to become a citizen, often through naturalization or applying for citizenship. Last but not least, a person can go through a special investment incentive program that rewards individuals who invest heavily in the economy of the country of potential secondary citizenship.


To learn more about countries that allow dual citizenship alongside a United States citizenship or vice versa, you can contact the embassy or consulate for the region. They will be able to inform you of any recent changes to dual nationality laws and they will also help guide you through the application process. If you already know what you need to obtain dual citizenship, let VitalChek help you gather important vital records like your birth certificate or marriage certificate which may be required during your application process!


Leave A Comment